EYFS Curriculum

In Nursery, we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum which highlights the importance of how children learn as well as what they learn. We have a mixture of child initiated learning and adult led activities which are based, where possible, on the topic planned from the children’s current interests. This allows the children to extend and develop their own learning, whilst ensuring that new ideas and concepts are introduced and their learning moves to the next stage. Learning takes place both indoors and outdoors with the Nursery children having continuous access to the outdoor environment. The progress children make in our nursery, both socially and academically is excellent and this ensures that the children have built an excellent foundation before starting school.

Areas of Learning and Development

The EYFS has 7 areas of learning:

There are 3 Prime Areas:

  1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  2. Communication and Language
  3. Physical Development

These Prime areas are fundamental, work together and move through to support development in all other areas.

The 4 Specific Areas are:

  1. Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Understanding the World
  4. Expressive Arts and design

These Specific areas include the essential skills and knowledge for the children to participate fully in society.

Characteristics of Effective Learning (CofEL)

  1. Playing and Exploring
  2. Active Learning
  3. Creating and Thinking Critically

This year we are introducing Mr Men and Little Miss characters to emphasise how the children are learning and we will be encouraging them to identify their own learning through these characters.


Contact the School

Prestbury C.E Primary School

Bollin Grove, Prestbury
Macclesfield, CHESHIRE, SK10 4JJ

Main Contact: Angela Norton, School Business Manager

Tel: 01625 469630

 2019 Prospectus Prestbury Who's Who